European Technology and Innovation Platform for Photovoltaics elects new members to its Steering Committee

Press Release

27 May 2024

BRUSSELS, Belgium (Thursday 23rd May 2024): On 22 May 2024, the European Technology and Innovation Platform for Photovoltaics (ETIP PV)  Steering Committee met to discuss the platform’s latest activities and elect new members. The meeting took place in advance of the ETIP PV’s 2024 Annual Conference in Brussels. 


In preparation for the establishment of a co-programmed partnership on Photovoltaics, the ETIP PV Steering Committee took the decision to guarantee the representation of the solar PV industry and research community by adding permanent seats for it to the following organisations: (1) The European Energy Research Alliance (EERA) PV, (2) The Association of European Renewable Energy Research Centers (EUREC), (3) The European Solar Manufacturing Council (ESMC), (4) SolarPower Europe, and (5) Thin-Film PV Technology association (PVthin). 


In total, 41 candidates have applied for a seat in the Steering Committee, including Steering Committee Members who had to re-apply for their seat.


New Members: 

  • Marina Foti (3SUN) 
  • Michael Buennig (Wacker Chemie) 
  • Puzant Baliozian (VDMA) 
  • Nora Adam (Baywa RE) 
  • Jan Lossen (ISC Konstanz) 
  • Geert Palmers (imec) 
  • Pere Roca (IPVF) 
  • Solveig Roschier (Fortum) 
  • Jan Clyncke (PV Cycle) 
  • Sara Golroodbari (University of Utrecht) 
  • Busra Yilmaz (Kameleon Solar) 
  • Nicola Baggio (FuturaSun) 
  • Thomas Dalibor (Avancis) 
  • Marion Perrin (Energy-Pool) 


Re-Elected Members: 

  • Rutger Schlatmann (Helmholtz- Zentrum Berlin) 
  • David Moser (Eurac Research) 
  • Bianca Lim ( ISFH) 
  • Christian Breyer (LUT University) 
  • Venizelos Efthymiou (University of Cyprus) 
  • Fabrizio Bizzarri (Enel Green Power) 


The 20 elected and re-elected members have been announced and welcomed during the closing of ETIP PV Conference on 23 May. 


Rutger Schlatmann, the ETIP PV Chairman; “We are delighted to see the quality and quantity of the applicants for membership of the ETIP PV Steering Committee. It shows the growing importance of the platform, as it prepares for its new additional task to co-shape the Horizon Europe R&D programme, within the planned Co-Programmed European Partnership with the European Union. Furthermore, it also clearly demonstrates the growing importance of Photovoltaics in general, for the future energy system of Europe. 


We would like to congratulate all new members to their election, which we consider a clear strengthening of the ETIP PV, bringing a wider range of sectors from the PV value chain and greater gender balance. At the same time, we would like to thank all applicants who were not elected, but who took the effort of applying. We hope to be able to benefit from their know-how and experience as well, as experts in the ETIP PV working groups.” 


The European Technology & Innovation Platform for Photovoltaics is an European Commission funded network of experts sharing a long-term European vision for PV, helping to ensure that Europe maintains and improves its industrial position, in order to achieve a leadership position within the global PV market. ETIP PV has supported and will continue to support the Strategic Energy Technology (SET) Plan. It aims to raise the profile of solar PV ,and help policymakers craft legislation and tailor research programmes to optimally support the technology.





ETIP PV provides advice on solar photovoltaic energy policy. It is an independent body recognised by the European Commission, and the SET Plan Steering Group as a representative of the solar photovoltaic sector. Its recommendations may cover the areas of research and innovation, market development including competitiveness, education and industrial policy.


For further information, please contact: Rania Fki, ETIP PV Secretariat ( 

Questions? Get in touch.

Thérèse O Donoghue
Press and Communications Advisor

Interested in becoming a member?

Have a look at the membership pages to find out all about your benefits

Why become a member?