SolarPower Europe elects new energy transition leaders

SolarPower Europe Press Release

6 April 2023

Thursday 6th April (Brussels, BELGIUM): At SolarPower Europe’s annual general meeting, elections were held to appoint key members of the Board, including the President, two Vice-President positions, and two members of the Board of Directors. 


Following a vote of SolarPower Europe membership, in accordance with our statutes, the following candidates were appointed to the Board:


President of SolarPower Europe

  • Aristotelis Chantavas, Enel Green Power (re-election)


Vice-Presidents of SolarPower Europe

  • Jochen Hauff, BayWa r.e. 
  • Alexandra Sombsthay, Akuo 


Members of the Board of Directors of SolarPower Europe

  • Stefanie Alexander, RWE Renewables
  • Jörg Ebel, IBC Solar


During the meeting of membership, a further vote was taken to reinforce SolarPower Europe’s longstanding climate advocacy efforts. SolarPower Europe’s statutes – the foundation that instructs the work of the Association – now include the formal support commitment to 'fully support the EU Green Deal objective of Climate Neutrality and a Net Zero economy in Europe'. Specifically, they include a commitment to 'work toward a 100% renewable, fossil-free energy system, by 2040'.


The SolarPower Europe Board of Directors is made up of 15 representatives of companies within SolarPower Europe’s membership, including 1 President, 3 Vice-Presidents, and 11 Directors. Each representative serves a three-year term. Acting as energy transition leaders, the Board sets SolarPower Europe’s high-level strategy, and empowers the SolarPower Europe team to translate the strategy into action.


Aristotelis Chantavas, President of SolarPower Europe said: “European solar is entering a new era. Solar is more in demand than ever, and citizens and policymakers are counting on us to deliver climate neutrality and energy security. It's a great honour to be re-elected as President of SolarPower Europe, and to be able to continue building the solar foundation of the new European energy system.”


Questions? Get in touch.

Bethany Meban
Head of Press & Policy Communciations

+32 492 97 82 48
Header Image

Photo (L-R, Front Row; Back Row): Vice-President of SolarPower Europe, Jochen Hauff, BayWa r.e.; President of SolarPower Europe, Aristotelis Chantavas, Enel Green Power; Member of the Board of Directors of SolarPower Europe, Jörg Ebel, IBC Solar; Vice-President of SolarPower Europe, Alexandra Sombsthay, Akuo; Member of the Board of Directors of SolarPower Europe, Stefanie Alexander, RWE Renewables

Interested in becoming a member?

Have a look at the membership pages to find out all about your benefits

Why become a member?